breakfast, Drink, plant based, snack

Green Smoothies

Life has been crazy. When things get tough at work, I don’t always eat the best. I have really been trying to start my day off with a green smoothie to get some greens in my diet and also because I just feel better. More energy, better mood, alertness. And then I don’t feel as bad eating a cheese danish later in the day.

In my quest to eat mostly plant based and find a balance of healthy living and living in the real world, I know that what I choose to incorporate in my diet I need to be able to continue to do for the rest of my life. Or at least some variation. In the past, I have fallen into many “fad” diets or diets that were too restricting. Enter the green smoothie. By now, just about everyone has heard that greens are good for you. Kale is a superfood and green salads are king. So in my quest for lifelong health, of course I am going to try to incorporate these powerhouse foods.

The thing about green smoothies is that they are really versatile and they don’t even really have to be green. Especially if you add some blueberries and cherries. They end up looking more like chocolate. But they do not taste like chocolate. But you could put chocolate in a green smoothie.

So, my green smoothies. I like to use spinach in my smoothies because it doesn’t have a strong taste. And I don’t like eating it raw or cooked because of how it feels on my teeth. But blend it in to a smoothie and I don’t even know its there. Except sometimes for the color. This has been my go-to green smoothie that I have not gotten sick of just yet. And it’s super easy because I just get the big bag of frozen organic strawberries from Costco.

 

AB&J Green Smoothie

yields: about 4 cups (breakfast)

2 bananas (fresh or frozen, depends on how cold you want it)

2 cups frozen strawberries

1 TBSP raw almond butter

big handful (about a cup) of fresh spinach

1/2 cup to 1 cup of coconut water (depending on desired consistency and if you use frozen or fresh fruit)

1-2 tablespoons local honey or sweetener of choice (I know honey is not vegan, but I would rather use local honey for allergies than take a pill)

 

Place ingredients into high speed blender in order listed. Blend until smooth. Drink up!

 

Apologies for no photo. It’s been that busy. And I mean, we haven’t even posted for almost a year…but…we’re back!

 

F

Standard

Leave a comment